Cisco IOS Security Specialist (CISS)

The Cisco IOS Security Specialist certification recognizes security professionals who can demonstrate the hands-on knowledge and skills that are required to secure networks, using Cisco IOS Security features embedded in the latest Cisco routers and switches as well as the widely deployed Cisco security appliances. Cisco IOS Security Specialists are able to secure the network environment and provide security services that are based on Cisco IOS Software, such as zone-based policy firewall, Cisco IOS IPS, user-based firewall, secure tunnels using IPsec VPN technology—including PKI, VTI and DVTI, Group Encrypted Transport VPN, and DMVPN—and advanced switch security features.


CCNA Security


642-637 SECURE *)

*) Last day to test 21st April 2014


Cisco Specialist certifications are valid for two years. To recertify, pass ONE of the following before the certification expiration date:

  • Pass a 642-XXX Security professional-level written exam, or
  • Pass the current CCIE written exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE written exam, or current CCDE Practical Exam
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review